We mourn the spindle

May 3, 2008 at 6:11 am 4 comments

Berwyn Spindle

I saw the Spindle with my big sister when I was 14. It was 1989, the year the Spindle was put up. Her “cool” high school friends took me as some sort of mascot to Berwyn for fun. They took me to Parkey’s for a double dog with handmade fries in a greesy bag and to see the Berwyn Moose.  I was as happy as could be. Years later I married and had my first place in Berwyn. I drove past the Spindle and the Garbage Sculpture regularly. Sadly, today I heard the Spindle had been torn down.  Such tragedy…for a Walgreens. Bummer. Thank you to Dustin Shuler for all the crazy art in Cermak Plaza. I loved it.

Cermak Plaza Sign

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , , .

Free Art Friday Starhead is my invisible friend

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teeni  |  May 3, 2008 at 9:13 am

    Awww, I hate seeing unique and nostalgic items like this get torn down and especially when it’s for yet another WalMart. Grrr.

    Reply
  • 2. ginabeans  |  June 3, 2008 at 12:46 pm

    It was to see the Moose Lodge, not a moose. And, don’t forget, you had to steal something from Cermak Plaza, too (and mom always thought we were so good). Being that most of the sculptures were solid and that you opted not to steal a car, we let you steal a half dead plant from the front of the grocery store.

    I personally liked the garbage sculpture the best and the pidgeons living in the accordian cemented in the middle of it–you just had to enjoy your art carefully. That is gone now, too. 😦 Don’t worry–I still have my Parkey’s gift certificate you bought me several years ago.

    Reply
  • 3. Urban Craft  |  February 12, 2009 at 12:02 pm

    Wow, what a blast from the past. I found your site via Flickr, super cool. I am from Chicago and now live in Oregon.
    Thanks for the post, I totally forgot about the car sculpture.

    Reply
  • 4. lmdalton  |  February 14, 2009 at 2:26 pm

    Glad you liked it. Thanks for visiting!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

circle of kitties

Shaggy Shadagrack in San Francisco, CA

Shaggy Shadagrack in Broomfield, CO

More Photos

Old stuff

Share the love


