Tree huggin’ and cool envelopes what more could you ask for?

October 26, 2007 at 11:40 am 5 comments


All these fancy catalogs come to my house… I can’t afford to buy anything out of them, but I turned them into some cool envelopes. I even recycled the cardboard template from a UPS envelope. nice!

Thanks to Paperseed for the great idea. I’m making the paint chip card holder and messenger bag next!

recycled envelope template

Entry filed under: art, crafts, envelopes, ephemera, project, recycling.

IF-Grow My Halloween handy work

5 Comments Add your own

  • 1. paperseed  |  October 26, 2007 at 12:21 pm

    Sweet! Those envelopes look great. I can’t tell you how glad I am to see someone else’s successful results. And thanks for referencing my post!

    You’re welcome…I have a stack of Rolling Stone that are going to get “recycled” for my music loving pen pals next.

    Reply
  • 2. teeni  |  October 26, 2007 at 9:00 pm

    I have always loved this idea. A number of years ago, I bought a kit at a craft fair which included templates for making your own envelopes out of things like magazine pages. I used that template thing so much it wore out and I never found one again. Your envelopes look much more sophisticated, but along the same idea. I’m glad to see things get recycled and you are so creative – no wonder yours look so neat. I will have to get over to Paperseed and get me one of those templates again. Thanks for the neat post and for sharing your pics!

    Glad you like them teeni. I didn’t print a template (because my printer is broken–must improvise!), I just used an envelope I liked the size of and carefully pulled it apart and layed it on the cardboard and traced it. Then cut out the cardboard. It was much more sturdy than using a paper template.

    Reply
  • 3. hrsj  |  October 31, 2007 at 8:26 pm

    These envelopes are great Lisa; I like the papers you used. I’ll check out the paperseed link. Thank you! I hope you’re well and happy today and this week!

    Thanks Heather…you can’t beat someone wishing you happy! Very happy tonight, I had a terrific Halloween with the wee boy. I’ll get a picture of the kermit costume up maybe tomorrow.

    Reply
  • 4. sjonsmom  |  January 12, 2008 at 8:43 pm

    What a cool idea!!! Thanks!!!

    Reply
  • 5. lmdalton  |  January 14, 2008 at 6:56 am

    You’re welcome sjonsmom. I hoped you headed over to Paperseed. She had a lot of good ideas over there to share.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

circle of kitties

Shaggy Shadagrack in San Francisco, CA

Shaggy Shadagrack in Broomfield, CO

More Photos

Old stuff

Share the love


