Art on Paper

October 14, 2007 at 7:39 pm 11 comments

I am very fortunate now to live in a town with a great library that has a huge selection of art books as well as periodicals. I’ve been reading issue after issues of Art on Paper and I thought I’d share some of the interesting bits here with you.

In the May/June issues, 2006 was the article Floored. A Swiss artist named Joseph Felix Muller carved all the wood floors in his rental house to make four gigantic woodcut prints–how terrific! Huge, huge prints!

Here’s one picture:
muller-woodcut-print.jpg
I found a few more pictures here.

Getting the word out about the TRAVEL KITTY PROJECT continues,as does the work on a Travel Kitty Correspondence Kit I’ve been thinking about.

Entry filed under: art, art on paper, artist, crafts, DIY, kitties, print, swiss, woodcut.

Finally, a blogroll. Today I decided to join Monday Artday

11 Comments Add your own

  • 1. anita  |  October 14, 2007 at 10:31 pm

    thank you for a interesting post about this artist making art on paper, huge papers, felix was his name…
    searching for blogs which had something to say about art and found yours…
    I´m doing some small works of art on paper and i´m using thick paper as the original plate and it works fine… but using the floorof the appartment…thats amazing and impressing…I will come back later and read some more on your blog…unfortunately I have to go to work at the moment….Your blog looks interesting…see you soon…

    With Regards from Anita, Randers in Denmark.

    Hi Anita, thanks for stopping by. I’m glad you liked hearing about Muller. I went over to your site, but my Danish is not good (well, really, I don’t know any… 🙂 ) and I can’t read what you’ve written. Blogger has an option to put a translator button on your site. Let me know if you do and I will come and read! Or if anyone else can tell me how to translate sites i’ve run into a few i’d like to read and would love some computer help.

    Reply
  • 2. teeni  |  October 15, 2007 at 2:30 pm

    Wow. I bet that guy’s landlord wasn’t too happy. LOL. I forgot to tell you I checked out your cute little travel kitties. I love the idea and I am hoping I can participate. I promised hubby that I’d try and get some stuff sold on e-bay and maybe begin my own Etsy shop also so that I can stop spending all his money and start bringing some in. I told him I can’t help that all my friends I’m meeting on here are so talented and all have books/cookbooks/crafts/zines that I want to buy. 🙂

    That’s funny you thought about the landlord because they actually mentioned in the article that after the prints were made he sold all the carved boards to the Kunstmuseum St. Gallen, where they are still housed. The sale of the boards paid for new flooring for the house and everyone including the landlord was happy.
    Well I hope you join the TKP too. Where do you live?

    Reply
  • 3. hrsj  |  October 15, 2007 at 9:38 pm

    ooh, I really like art on paper too!

    see, now, i knew you were good people.

    Reply
  • 4. paperseed  |  October 15, 2007 at 11:38 pm

    I don’t know what I’d do without my local library. I could never afford all the art and craft books that I’ve borrowed over the years!

    Me neither! Thanks for stopping by paperseed.

    Reply
  • 5. teeni  |  October 16, 2007 at 4:34 am

    Oh, that’s good that everyone made out in that story then. Yay! I live in Taxachusetts! Not that exciting but hey every little state counts, right?

    MA? Sounds exciting…I need to get up there and see a Red Sox game next season. I’m a fan of taxes (although I will cry when I have to pay my new NY taxes-yikes!), but I have lived in a state with low taxes (FL) and seen the differences.

    Reply
  • 6. Deepti  |  October 23, 2007 at 10:58 am

    really interesting!!!

    Thanks for stopping by Deepti!

    Reply
  • 7. Fernando Colón-González  |  February 27, 2012 at 5:11 pm

    I saw this works when they where exhibited in New York for the first time. I also saw them when they where exhibited more recently at a gallery in SoHo. They are spectacular works! Truly amazing!

    Reply
  • 8. Pest Control  |  July 14, 2013 at 7:29 am

    I know this if off topic but I’m looking into starting my own weblog and was curious what all is needed to get setup? I’m assuming
    having a blog like yours would cost a pretty penny?
    I’m not very internet savvy so I’m not 100% sure. Any tips or advice would be
    greatly appreciated. Appreciate it

    Reply
  • 9. Pest Control  |  July 14, 2013 at 9:12 am

    Nice blog! Is your theme custom made or did you download it from somewhere?
    A design like yours with a few simple adjustements would really make my blog shine.
    Please let me know where you got your theme. Thanks

    Reply
  • 10. louis cunningham  |  July 29, 2013 at 1:30 pm

    Hello there! This is kind of off topic but I need some guidance from an established blog.
    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m
    thinking about setting up my own but I’m not sure where to begin. Do you have any ideas or suggestions? Cheers

    Reply
  • 11. http://wn7.k.af  |  August 5, 2013 at 10:18 am

    If some one desires expert view concerning blogging and site-building after that i suggest
    him/her to pay a quick visit this weblog, Keep up the nice work.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

Old stuff

Share the love


