Eli officially becomes a city boy

August 16, 2007 at 10:03 am 3 comments



The visitors have left and we are getting back to business around my place, this included some morning Wiffle Ball with the little guy. Sadly, after a good hit the ball went into the street and despite my run at full speed it went down the sewer drain. The boy cried as I tried to explain to him that I couldn’t get it out. Oh, such sadness. I have lost many a wiffle ball in my time, but mostly into big fields of weeds in the area I grew up. The sewer thing is new to me, but even more sad because you can’t even look around for the ball…it’s just gone. I caught myself just looking down the drain even though I knew I couldn’t get it. Don’t worry the story ends with a smile…we went out on the town and got a new Wiffle Ball for the boy and a Big Gulp for me. Ahhh, happy times…

Entry filed under: art, drawing, ink, new york, parenting, toys.

Hey I’m nice…really. Zine #3 is on the way!

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teeni  |  August 16, 2007 at 12:22 pm

    Yay for happy endings! I tried wiffle (or is it whiffle? the word looks funny to me now) ball with the great niece the other day. She was more all about the beating of ants with the bat though. I guess maybe 4-1/2 is too young? I don’t know. LOL

    Reply
  • 2. lmdalton  |  August 20, 2007 at 1:52 pm

    I think it just depends on the kid…my little guy is 2 1/2 and he can’t get enough of it. He also came from the land of the evil fire ants (FL), so he knows we don’t mess around with the ants.

    Reply
  • 3. teeni  |  August 20, 2007 at 8:48 pm

    Oooh, fire ants. Those things freak me out. Your little guy is only 2-1/2 and already into sports? Wow. He is advanced, I think. I don’t think I could even walk a straight line yet at that age, forget throw a ball. LOL. Anyway, I’m hoping that you will be able to make my plant baby – baby shower at my site. Go here for details. It should be fun and I’d love to have you! http://vtroom.wordpress.com/2007/08/19/plant-baby-baby-shower/

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

circle of kitties

Shaggy Shadagrack in San Francisco, CA

Shaggy Shadagrack in Broomfield, CO

More Photos

Old stuff

Share the love


