Cool Lettering

August 2, 2007 at 6:04 pm 8 comments


Hand Lettering

I saw this the other day on the credits of “I Dream of Jeannie” while my husband was playing the beginning cartoon part for my little guy (ahhh… youtube). I really like hand lettering. I like that it is not perfect, that not every “e” is the same. I worked on this last night. It came out pretty well for not penciling it first. Do you see my favorite pen on the side there? Have I told you I’m in love with Sakura Micron pens? I am, and now you know.

While I’m sharing youtube moments, I’ll tell you that I also found this one for my little guy. Excellent. We’ve been singing it with him to learn the numbers and finally he knows the real thing! He seemed intrigued that they were singing the same song on the video.

Entry filed under: art, drawing, hand lettering, ink, kids, parenting, pen, sakura, signs, youtube.

Will i get the illustration job? What do you think? My First Illustration Job

8 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teeni  |  August 3, 2007 at 6:05 am

    That IS cool lettering and was a fun show. That counting youtube video brings back tons of memories. I used to see it all the time on tv. And it is nice to see that it is still a great tool for teaching little ones to count! 😉

    Reply
  • 2. lmdalton  |  August 3, 2007 at 5:03 pm

    Yes, youtube is great for looking up all the things I remember from being a kid.

    Reply
  • 3. teeni  |  August 3, 2007 at 9:28 pm

    Remember all those schoolhouse rock videos? Or am I dating myself?

    Reply
  • 4. Guy  |  August 4, 2007 at 5:52 am

    Amazing, I haven’t seen that numbers cartoon in ages, but I instantly remembered the tune. It will also be stuck in my head for the rest of the day.

    Reply
  • 5. lmdalton  |  August 4, 2007 at 10:49 am

    Teeni you’re not dating yourself…those videos are great. I still know my conjunctions from the Cunjuction Junction video. Oh, another cool School House Rock factoid. A bunch of bands in the ’90’s remade a CD of the songs. One of my favorite from the list…”Three Is a Magic Number, remade by Blind Melon.

    Click on the links for samples of the songs from three of my favorite ’90’s bands:
    Three Is A Magic Number – Blind Melon
    Conjunction Junction – Better Than Ezra
    My Hero, Zero – Lemonheads

    Reply
  • 6. lmdalton  |  August 4, 2007 at 10:58 am

    Hey Guy thanks for stopping by. Some great pre-computer drawings in that video too. Glad you liked it.

    Reply
  • 7. Zooomabooma  |  August 10, 2007 at 10:14 am

    I’m definitely not criticizing you but… raising a kid on youtube? Wow… seems dangerous to me in that one might unintentionally be raising a child addicted to the internet? Scary thought. But if there are things to help teach a child on youtube then I guess maybe it has a good useful purpose.

    Reply
  • 8. lmdalton  |  August 11, 2007 at 9:47 am

    Zooomabooma, it’s interesting that you couch your statement so carefully (“I’m definitely not criticizing you but…”) and then make such presumptuous statements (“raising a kid on youtube/raising a child addicted to the internet”). To put your mind at ease I’ll let you know that we don’t watch any t.v. at our house, so the 30 second opening credits of I Dream of Jeannie or an old school Sesame Street snippit on occasion don’t concern me. I do agree with you that most Americans do watch far to much t.v., especially kids.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

Old stuff

Share the love


