Will i get the illustration job? What do you think?

July 30, 2007 at 11:46 am 12 comments



Here is one of the pictures I sent off today for a possible illo job. The person is putting together an educational classroom set. We’ll see what they think.

What do you guys think? I was debating a background color, but obviously didn’t do it. I sent off a bunch of black and whites too.

I’m glad I sent it either way.  It was one of my goals for the year to get work out there, wherever out there may be.  Just a goal not to over think things.

Entry filed under: art, drawing, illustration, ink, painting, watercolor.

Tag, I’m it. Cool Lettering

12 Comments Add your own

  • 1. teeni  |  July 30, 2007 at 2:07 pm

    I think this is great, especially for a classroom. The illustration is not too overly complicated so it should help get points across rather than befuddle their little minds. LOL. Nice work and good job accomplishing a goal. Keep that positive attitude – I’m sure with your talent that it is going to turn into something profitable for you!

    Reply
  • 2. lmdalton  |  July 30, 2007 at 2:17 pm

    We’ll see. 🙂 The writer was asking for simple line drawings that focused on one idea without a lot of background drawing. So, if that’s what it looked like to you then I guess I did okay at keeping it simple.

    Reply
  • 3. hrsj  |  July 30, 2007 at 4:21 pm

    I like the color too, it’s soothing and clear. I hope you get it. I understand, it is an accomplishment just to put together a portfolio to send out! So you can feel good about that too.

    Reply
  • 4. Stuart Hobbes  |  July 30, 2007 at 4:57 pm

    Thank you
    http://stuarthobbes.ebloggy.com/

    Reply
  • 5. teeni  |  July 30, 2007 at 8:55 pm

    Oh, you are SO gonna get the job.

    Reply
  • 6. lmdalton  |  July 31, 2007 at 5:46 pm

    Thanks for all the feedback everyone. I heard back from the writer right away saying she really liked the drawings. GREAT! We’re going to talk this week about the rest of the work and the timeline etc. So, that’s the good news of the day.

    Reply
  • 7. teeni  |  July 31, 2007 at 8:06 pm

    AWESOME! As I said, you are SO going to get this job. Keep positive – it is yours! 😉

    Reply
  • 8. lmdalton  |  August 2, 2007 at 7:06 am

    Thanks teeni.

    Reply
  • 9. stickynotetheatre  |  August 7, 2007 at 8:04 am

    Good luck! It takes guts and gumption to put your work out there. I’ve always wanted to write and be published, but apparently haven’t found my voice yet. Nothing I write gets finished, and thus nothing gets sent out. Well, I lied…I had a poem published in Highlights for Children when I was six, but I don’t think that counts!

    Reply
  • 10. lmdalton  |  August 7, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Well SNT you commented on just the right day because I have news to report…See the new post My First Illustration Job.

    Thanks for stopping by, oh, and I definitely think Highlights counts on your wall of fame. 🙂 I colored a picture in first grade that won the school contest. It was put on the principals door and I still count that a pretty cool! Oh, I also go some Oreo cookies for the big win. It’s all still etched in my memory…what a day!

    Reply
  • 11. My First Illustration Job « temporal millionaire  |  August 7, 2007 at 10:19 am

    […] 7, 2007 <>Well it’s official folks, I got the job. I’ll be working on the illustrations for a educational (ESL) book. Thanks for all the […]

    Reply
  • 12. teeni  |  August 7, 2007 at 1:20 pm

    Highlights for Children definitely counts! OMG I used to read them at my cousins’ house all the time (they had a subscription). I will never forget Goofus and Gallant. Thanks for the smile and the memory.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

circle of kitties

Shaggy Shadagrack in San Francisco, CA

Shaggy Shadagrack in Broomfield, CO

More Photos

Old stuff

Share the love


