Stationary for my mom

June 20, 2007 at 7:03 pm 4 comments

 

So many things to make these days that there is little time left for writing about it all. Tonight I finished making some stationary for my mom. It’s her birthday this weekend. I carved a linoleum block with a simple, happy, circle design. It took forever to carve because I had to be really careful with all the curves. It really came out well and I think she will like it. I was going to do a two color print, but I liked it with the single color and left it like that. It’s a turquoise ink on a periwinkle paper (I wish I had more opportunity to use the word periwinkle!). I tied up six cards and six off white envelopes and will send it off to mom tomorrow.

By the way, carving lino blocks makes me think of the dentist scraping my teeth, and I can see why they never seem to be in a hurry to finish…it’s kind of fun.

Entry filed under: art, carve, ink, linoleum, mom, print, stationary.

Illustration Friday-Your Paradise I’m back…finally!

4 Comments Add your own

  • 1. hrsj  |  June 20, 2007 at 7:25 pm

    That is really cool; I like the one color too. You should make more, it’s really nice!

    Reply
  • 2. lmdalton  |  June 22, 2007 at 5:52 pm

    Thanks! If only I could have you sitting by me giving me such terrific feedback all the time! haaaa, haaa…back to drawing for me.

    Reply
  • 3. Ian  |  July 14, 2007 at 12:06 pm

    Very neat! I think prints make the best textures for any purpose, I like the color you chose as well. And thank you for your comment oh so long ago too!

    Reply
  • 4. lmdalton  |  July 17, 2007 at 10:09 am

    Thanks for visiting Ian. I like the prints too. I really want one of those print gocco machines to play around with…but i’m poor. Maybe santa will hook me up.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Thanks for visiting! Let me know what you think...leave a comment. Really, it will make me happy.

Check out what I'm making today

circle of kitties

Shaggy Shadagrack in San Francisco, CA

Shaggy Shadagrack in Broomfield, CO

More Photos

Old stuff

Share the love


